Making the most of it.

Last weekend I was at the World Domination Summit in Portland, Oregon. I bought my ticket last fall– one of the lucky 3000.

WDS is comprised of main stage speakers, workshops, film screenings and unofficial meet ups that try to answer this question: “How do we live a remarkable life in a conventional world?”

Since it was only three days long, there was a temptation to pack in as much as possible. At events like this it’s common to hear, “I want to make the most of it.”

It got me thinking about what it means to make the most of my time.

Usually when we say that we want to “make the most of it,” we mean that we want to do the most— meet the most people, attend the most sessions, hit the most bars up at the pub crawl. I’ve tried this technique many, many times. It seems logical that by doing the most, we make the most of our time. But it’s never seemed to work all that well for me.

I came to WDS with a desire to experiment with making the most of my time here by figuring out how to be the most (present) rather than to do the most.

This new approach had me sitting in the basement of the hostel typing this post before I sat to meditate and then walked to the grocery store instead of socializing and bar hopping with my fellow attendees. I’ll admit I’m suffered a little from FMS (fear of missing something), but the message I got after checking in with myself after the final speaker of the day was: shower, eat and then re-evaluate. Upon evaluation, the message was write, meditate, groceries.

I worked actively with trusting that I’d still have maximum fun and cross paths with those I’m meant to meet. In taking care of myself, I was also more present to recognize the magic and participate in the events. For example, I had no idea where I was going to stay the days following the conference. One rad gal I met at the very last session of the summit offered me up a place to stay a few days while I get my bearings in Portland!

In the concrete the practice looked like this:

At every break I take a moment to check in with myself. Closed eyes and several seconds of reflections. How do I feel? What do I want or need? How’s my energy?

When I’m feeling distracted or bored or tuned-out in any way I check in again: What’s going on? What do I need? How do I get that for myself?

One thought on “Making the most of it.

  1. Mary, Your blog is great and I live right up the street from the Snitz where the conference was given. Looking forward to meeting you to do some NVC check in. I have several blogs too and let me know if you like them. Grace

Leave a Reply

